ADVERTISEMENT

Taxing Grad Students

Clong83a

I.T.S. Senior
Nov 15, 2014
Thought I'd post this... Write your congressman if you agree this is a bad idea.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/starts...e&utm_content=link&ICID=ref_fark#6c10cd5d3d2f
https://www.forbes.com/sites/starts...e&utm_content=link&ICID=ref_fark#6c10cd5d3d2f
The gist of it is that under the new tax plan, tuition waivers for graduate school will be taxed as income. That might not sound like a big deal, but here is some background:

The vast majority of graduate students (STEM, in particular) in the US do not pay tuition. Instead, they teach for the university as a TA or perform research in a laboratory. The school grants them a tuition waiver and a small stipend in return. The stipend is usually around 20-25k/year, and the tuition waiver is valued at the cost of tuition, obviously. This can be upwards of 50k/year, even at a state school. When I was a grad student at UC San Diego, I believe mine was valued at around 40k or so, and my stipend was 22k/year. Currently, you do not pay taxes on the tuition waiver, only your actual income (ie, the 20-25k that you make). The proposal in congress would force you to pay taxes on your tuition waiver as well. This means that if I were still in grad school today and the law were to take effect, I would be earning about 22k/year, but paying taxes on around 60k. Effectively, I'd be paying around 7k in taxes on a 22k income, leaving me with almost nothing to survive on (around 15k).