ADVERTISEMENT

Five TU men's soccer players earn AAC honors

Chris Harmon

ITS Publisher
Staff
Aug 15, 2002
Tulsa, OK
tulsa.rivals.com
The University of Tulsa’s Bradley Bourgeois was named as the American Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year and Juan Sanchez was selected as Rookie of the Year, the league announced Thursday.

Bourgeois, a senior defender from Cypress, Texas, was also selected as a First Team All-Conference performer. He led TU’s backline that ranked third in the conference in shutouts (three).

Sanchez was named to the Second Team and the All-Rookie Team. He has team-bests of six goals and 15 points.

Geoffree Dee and Jake McGuire were also chosen for the Second Team. Lesley Nchanji was named as an All-Rookie.

Fantastic. I'm not a soccer expert at all but I watch a little bit of the SMU match and we really played well. We had so many more opportunities than they did and narrowly missed a number of shots on goal. As someone said in another thread, we should have scored 2-3 more goals and wouldn't have needed to go to the OT's and then to the penalty kicks. We seem to have some really good under classmen and some good recruits, so next year should not be a drop off.

TU just won the AACK! championship on PK's(they outplayed UCONN the entire 2nd half & OT but couldn't break through) & Bradley Bourgeois was the best player on the pitch. Maybe Klinsman & co. should take a look at this kid for the under 21 USA team. In this country of 360 million or so it's pathetic we can't produce defenders worth a bleep. With a John Terry or Vincent Kompany, the USA fortunes would be greatly improved. Congrats to TU Futbol.