ADVERTISEMENT

2016 softball team

What does the team look like next year

To be clear I have no inside scoop. I’m just a TU grad that has a 14 y/o catcher_girl and that likes to read box scores.

In 2015 Tulsa lead the American Conference in Batting Ave, Runs, Slugging Percentage Hits, Doubles, Triples, HR, Walks, RBI, On-Base Percentage, Sac Fly and fewest Strike Outs.

Pitching was 2nd (behind UCF’s crazy numbers) in ERA, fewest Runs and Walks allowed and 3rd in opposing teams Batting Average and extra base hits allowed.

As is said good pitching beats good hitting.

2nd place in the conference, leaves very little room to improve, but this year we lost too many close games. Most of the losses were 1-2 run losses, and most of the wins were 3+ run victories.

Pitching in 2016 Caitlin Sill will be a solid returning Senior. Behind her we will be young, but Emily Watson saw plenty of game time this year and should be solid.

Offensively it would be hard to improve the above stats, losing Kernen and Sampson the line up might be short on power, but the Withee sisters, Edmiston, and Walker should still generate lots of runs.

If anything that may need to improve numbers wise, we were in the bottom half of the conference in Stolen Bases and Sac Hits (bunts). This is huge in softball and manufacturing RBI opportunities could make a difference in those close games.

do they have a chance to get back to the NCAA's?

Abso--freaking--lutely!

I looked at their stats...losing the 1st base kid will hurt and Sampson, any incoming transfers or recruits that impact next year?

While watching the championship game there was mention that every player on the TU roster with an official at bat had hit a home run this year. That seems amazing to me if true. 2nd place to the #1 pitching staff in the country is not bad.

Reactions: TUBballJunkie