ADVERTISEMENT

Premiere League

TU_BLA

I.T.S. Legend
Gold Member
Mar 9, 2012
Tulsa, OK
So I am relatively new to following club soccer and a lot of it has to do with NBC's EPL package the last 4-5 years. I never followed club soccer before then, only international soccer and college soccer. The EPL on NBC coincided with the time my son moved from rec soccer to playing competitive club soccer. But did NBC do this because it lost the NBA and it was early AM weekend programming? Is it more of a result of US fans embracing soccer as a whole following the success of Landon Donovan and Clint Dempsey overseas? I can say soccer would probably be a little further ahead in this country had a network picked it up when Dempsey was in his prime in the PL around 2011-2012. He was freaking ridiculous...and I had no idea.

I bring this up because the PL is back in 17 days and they just ran an ad on Twitter showing Dempsey's 17 goals in PL play 2011-2012. Can't wait. Let's go LFC #YNWA!

They did it because they got out bid for NFL football and the metrics of what they would get in return for the investment in soccer versus what they had to spend to make what they would make on football pointed to going chips on the Olympics and supporting soccer hoping for a big payoff later as the audience expanded. The NBA has nothing to do with it.