ADVERTISEMENT

Born and raised in the city of Tulsa.

My family moved to Tulsa in '49 when I was 2; my father took a job teaching at the university. I grew up on the campus. My brother and I graduated here. I became a TU football fan as soon as I understood it.

I became a fan of the basketball team under Nolan. I started following the football team seriously when I joined this site. Before that I watched the football team sporadically.

Reactions: Bill Lowery
I'm an alum that moved to Tulsa area in '77 as an 8 year old. My dad loved Nolan's squads as well as John Coopers teams, and the rest is history.

I’m an alum, graduated in 2009 and lived in the Tulsa area for my first 30 years and just recently moved away for family reasons.

I’ve been going to football games since I was about 4. Basketball I’ve been obsessed with for as long as I can remember.

I’ll be honest, I never even knew about TU athletics until I came to school at TU. In MA if you followed College football, you were a Boston College fan if you didn’t have another affiliation. I arrived in Tulsa the year after the Freedom Bowl team and there was an electricity around the program that year. And Basketball was just getting ready to take off and Tubby had everyone excited despite being on probation that year.

My father received his Masters in Refining (now chemical engineering) at TU, and taught there for a time - quite a few of his students had fought in World War II. So I grew up a block south of Skelly Stadium, where I parked cars in our driveway and yard during football games. Went to many games growing up, including many with Rhome and Twilley. Got my BS ChE in 78 from TU, so got to see some of the John Cooper years. Basketball during my time at TU was during the miserable Jim King years, but prior to that had witnessed a lot of great players over the years, albeit at the hellhole called the Fairgrounds Pavilion. So I was indoctrinated early and still follow the teams.